Gold IRAs

Best Gold IRA Companies Compared: Augusta, Goldco, American Hartford, Birch, Noble

Gold coins and a small gold bar on a green linen cloth beside reading glasses

For savers with $50,000 or more, the company we refer readers to is Augusta Precious Metals: Money magazine has named it "Best Overall Gold IRA Company" every year from 2022 to 2026, its educators are salaried rather than paid on commission, and it covers setup, custodian and storage fees for up to 10 years. Choosing a gold IRA company is the biggest decision in the whole process, so here are five of the best-known side by side. Every figure below comes from each company's own website, the Better Business Bureau and the Business Consumer Alliance, checked in October 2026. Click any company for its full review.

Get my free gold IRA guide

Free guide, plus a no-pressure call with a salaried Augusta educator who walks you through it. No obligation.

The short version

  • Minimums run from $5,000 (Birch Gold Group) to $50,000 (Augusta Precious Metals).
  • All five show an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau.
  • Augusta advertises zero setup, custodian and storage fees for up to 10 years. Birch pays the first year's fees on larger accounts. Goldco's offer is bonus silver on certain coins.
  • American Hartford Gold doesn't publish a fee schedule, and Noble Gold's own pages list two different ones, so ask both for theirs in writing.
  • Augusta's educators are salaried and non-commissioned. Birch's FAQ says its specialists are paid by commission. The other three don't say.

The five companies side by side

CompanyMinimumYearly feesFee or bonus offerBBB / BCA
Augusta Precious Metals$50,000Standard fees of $50 to open, $125 a year administration and $100 a year storage are ZERO for up to 10 years under its offerZERO setup, custodian & storage fees for up to 10 yearsA+ / AAA
Goldco$25,000About $200 to $225 a year, per its own pagesUp to 10% bonus silver on "Goldco premium coins"A+ / AAA
American Hartford Gold$10,000Not publishedFree storage promotions; terms not publishedA+ / AAA
Birch Gold Group$5,000About $235 a year, per BirchFirst year's fees paid over $50,000A+ / AAA
Noble Gold$20,000$275 or $285 a year; its pages differNone foundA+ / AAA

Fees and offers change. Before you sign with any company, ask for its current fee schedule, the premium over spot on each product, and its buyback terms, all in writing.

Custodians, storage and buyback

A gold IRA has three parts: the company that sells you the metal, a custodian that holds the IRA, and a depository that stores the metal. Here's who each company works with, what it sells for an IRA, what it says about buybacks, and how its reps are paid.

CompanyCustodianStorageMetalsBuyback wordingHow reps are paid
Augusta Precious MetalsEquity Trust (preferred)Delaware Depository (preferred)Gold and silverHighest Buyback GuaranteeSalaried, non-commissioned educators
GoldcoGoldco says it "works with all major" custodians; Equity Trust is one"An insured depository," not namedGold and silver, plus platinum and palladiumGoldco says "guaranteed at the highest price"; no written terms foundNot stated
American Hartford GoldNot namedBrink's or Delaware DepositoryGold and silver"Buyback Commitment" and "No Buyback Fees"; no written terms foundNot stated
Birch Gold GroupEquity Trust or GoldStar TrustFive depositories, including Delaware Depository and Brink'sGold, silver, platinum and palladiumBirch says it welcomes buybacks; no published formulaCommission, per Birch's FAQ
Noble GoldEquity Institutional (gold), New Direction IRA Services (silver)International Depository Services in Texas, Delaware or OntarioGold, silver, platinum and palladiumNoble says "top-rated buyback program"; no written terms foundNot stated

Ask any company which custodian and depository your account will use, whether storage is segregated or pooled, and how buyback prices are set for the exact products you buy. Our guides to storing physical gold and selling gold from an IRA explain both.

Augusta Precious Metals: the company we refer readers to

Most gold IRA companies will open a small account. Augusta starts at $50,000, and it's built around the people who move that kind of money: savers who want to understand every step before they commit. Here's what stands out.

  • Recognized year after year. Money magazine named Augusta "Best Overall Gold IRA Company" every year from 2022 to 2026, and Investopedia named it "Best for Transparency" for the same years.
  • Top marks with consumer groups. An A+ rating with the BBB, AAA from the Business Consumer Alliance, and more than 4,000 independent 5-star rankings.
  • Education first, not a sales pitch. Its educators are salaried, not paid on commission, and explain everything, even risks. Its gold and silver web conference was created by Devlyn Steele, its director of education and a Harvard-trained economic analyst.
  • They do the heavy lifting. Augusta does 95% of the gold IRA paperwork with you and works with your custodian to set up the account and storage. You stay in control and decide which metals to buy.
  • Guarantees that keep you in control. A Highest Buyback Guarantee, a 100% Satisfaction Guarantee and a 100% 7-Day Money-Back Guarantee.
  • Fees covered for up to 10 years. ZERO setup, custodian and storage fees for up to 10 years, and everyone qualifies. Without the offer, the standard fees are $50 one time to open an account, $125 a year for administration and $100 a year for storage. Shipping and transit insurance are free.
  • Help for the life of the account. Account lifetime service, from a company that has done this since 2012.
  • Trusted partners. Its preferred custodian is Equity Trust, and its preferred depository is the Delaware Depository.

If you have $50,000 or more to move, it's worth a conversation. The guide is free, and you decide in your own time. Read our full Augusta Precious Metals review.

Goldco

Goldco says it generally requires $25,000 to open a gold IRA and publishes flat yearly fees, though two of its pages list different figures. Its bonus-silver offer applies to "Goldco premium coins," so ask which coins qualify and the premium on each. In 2026, a court gave final approval to a $2 million class-action settlement over its marketing texts; Goldco denied wrongdoing. Read the full Goldco review.

American Hartford Gold

American Hartford Gold has the second-lowest minimum here, $10,000. We didn't find a published fee schedule, price over spot or written buyback terms on its website, so ask for all three. BBB shows an A+ rating and 112 complaints in the last three years. Read the full American Hartford Gold review.

Birch Gold Group

Birch has the lowest minimum on this list, $5,000, according to its website. It lists typical yearly fees of about $235 and says it pays the first year's fees on accounts or transfers over $50,000. It doesn't quote product prices online, so ask for a written quote. Read the full Birch Gold Group review.

Noble Gold

Noble Gold's minimum is $20,000. Two of its own pages list different setup and storage fees, so ask which applies to you. It names its custodians and its depository, and BBB shows an A+ rating with three complaints in three years. Read the full Noble Gold review.

Head-to-head comparisons

How to choose between them

Ratings and minimums narrow the list. The written answers decide it. Put the same questions to each company you're considering and compare what comes back:

  • What's the premium over spot, as a percentage, on each product you're offered?
  • What are the setup, custodian and storage fees, and for how long does any offer last?
  • What are the buyback terms, in writing?
  • How is the representative paid?
  • Which custodian and depository will hold your account, and is storage segregated or pooled?

Our 10 questions to ask any gold IRA company has the full list, and how to check a company's record shows the free federal and state lookups.

Common questions

Which gold IRA company is the best?

The best one for you is the one that answers every question in writing, with fees and buyback terms you're comfortable with. We refer readers to Augusta Precious Metals for its education-first approach, salaried educators and fee offer. Compare its written answers with any other company before you decide.

Which company has the lowest minimum?

Of these five, Birch Gold Group, at $5,000 according to its website. American Hartford Gold's is $10,000, Noble Gold's $20,000, Goldco's $25,000 and Augusta's $50,000.

Which companies publish their fees?

Four of the five list fees on their websites. Augusta's standard fees are $50 one time to open an account, $125 a year for administration and $100 a year for storage. Under its offer, those setup, custodian and storage fees are ZERO for up to 10 years, and everyone qualifies. Goldco lists $50 to set up and about $200 to $225 a year. Birch lists about $235 a year. Noble Gold lists $275 or $285 a year on two different pages. American Hartford Gold doesn't publish dollar amounts. Get the current schedule in writing from any company you call.

What does Augusta's zero-fee offer cover?

ZERO setup, custodian and storage fees for up to 10 years, and everyone qualifies. Augusta's minimum purchase is $50,000. Ask Augusta to show the offer on your written fee schedule.

Where is the gold stored?

At an approved depository, not at home. Augusta's preferred depository is the Delaware Depository. Birch lists five depositories, Noble Gold uses International Depository Services in Texas, Delaware or Ontario, and American Hartford Gold names Brink's and Delaware Depository. Goldco says "an insured depository" without naming it, so ask.

Can I roll over a 401(k) into a gold IRA with these companies?

Yes. Augusta's in-house processing team handles the paperwork for transfers and rollovers from IRAs, 401(k)s, 403(b)s and similar accounts, and says opening and funding typically take one to two weeks. Goldco says its rollovers typically take less than two weeks. See our step-by-step rollover guide.

Will these companies buy my gold back?

Augusta offers its Highest Buyback Guarantee. Goldco says its buyback is "guaranteed at the highest price," and Birch and Noble Gold say they buy back metal too, but we didn't find written terms or a pricing formula from those three or from American Hartford Gold. Ask any company for its buyback terms in writing before you buy.

Are the sales reps paid on commission?

Augusta's educators are salaried and non-commissioned. Birch's FAQ says its specialists are paid by commission on completed transactions. Goldco, American Hartford Gold and Noble Gold don't say on the pages we read, so ask.

Do all of these companies have good BBB ratings?

All five show an A+ with the Better Business Bureau and AAA with the Business Consumer Alliance. Read the complaints themselves too, since they show how a company handles problems. Each full review summarizes them.

How did you check these figures?

We read each company's own website, its BBB and BCA profiles, and federal court and regulator records in October 2026. How we review companies explains our method.

We base our guides on primary sources such as the IRS, the Department of Labor, and federal regulators. Read our editorial policy. Spot an error? Tell us.

Free guide + a no-pressure call with an educatorGet it free