Gold IRAs

Augusta Precious Metals vs Goldco: Fees, Minimums and Buyback Compared

Gold coins and a small gold bar on a green linen cloth beside reading glasses

Augusta Precious Metals and Goldco both hold an A+ rating with the BBB and AAA with the Business Consumer Alliance. The main differences are the entry point and the offer. Goldco says it generally requires $25,000 and offers bonus silver on its premium coins. Augusta starts at $50,000 and covers setup, custodian and storage fees for up to 10 years, with salaried, non-commissioned educators. Money magazine has named Augusta "Best Overall Gold IRA Company" every year from 2022 to 2026.

Get my free gold IRA guide

Free guide, plus a no-pressure call with a salaried Augusta educator who walks you through it. No obligation.

Goldco vs Augusta at a glance

Goldco's column comes from its own website and public records we checked on October 16, 2026. Augusta's column comes from Augusta's published company facts.

GoldcoAugusta Precious Metals
Minimum to open$25,000 for an IRA ("generally," per Goldco)$50,000
Published yearly fees$50 setup, then about $225 a year per its cost page (its FAQ says about $200)Standard fees of $50 to open, $125 a year administration and $100 a year storage are ZERO for up to 10 years under its offer
Fee offerUp to 10% bonus silver on purchases of "Goldco premium coins"ZERO setup, custodian & storage fees for up to 10 years. Everyone qualifies.
BuybackGoldco says: "Buy Back program guaranteed at the highest price"Highest Buyback Guarantee
RatingsA+ with the BBB; AAA from the Business Consumer AllianceA+ with the BBB. AAA from the Business Consumer Alliance
How staff are paidNot stated on the Goldco pages we readSalaried, non-commissioned educators
AwardsGoldco lists "Money.com 2026 Best Customer Service"Money magazine "Best Overall Gold IRA Company," 2022 to 2026
Money-back guaranteeNot stated on the Goldco pages we read100% 7-Day Money-Back Guarantee

What stands out about Augusta

Augusta starts at $50,000 and is built around savers who want to understand every step before they commit. Read our full Augusta review.

  • Recognized year after year. Money magazine named Augusta "Best Overall Gold IRA Company" every year from 2022 to 2026, and Investopedia named it "Best for Transparency" for the same years.
  • Top marks with consumer groups. An A+ rating with the BBB, AAA from the Business Consumer Alliance, and more than 4,000 independent 5-star rankings.
  • Education first. Its educators are salaried, not paid on commission, and explain everything, even risks.
  • They do the heavy lifting. Augusta does 95% of the gold IRA paperwork with you and works with your custodian to set up the account and storage.
  • Guarantees. A Highest Buyback Guarantee, a 100% Satisfaction Guarantee and a 100% 7-Day Money-Back Guarantee.
  • Fees covered for up to 10 years. ZERO setup, custodian and storage fees for up to 10 years, and everyone qualifies. Shipping and transit insurance are free.
  • Help for the life of the account, from a company that has done this since 2012.

What to know about Goldco

Goldco publishes flat yearly fees, though its cost page and its FAQ give slightly different administration figures. Its bonus-silver offer applies to "Goldco premium coins," and Goldco says to contact a representative to find out whether an order qualifies. In 2026 a federal court gave final approval to a $2 million class-action settlement over Goldco's marketing text messages. Goldco denied the allegations.

Read our full Goldco review for its fees, record and sources, or see all five companies in our gold IRA companies comparison.

Before you call either company

Ask for the fee schedule, the price of each product and the buyback terms in writing. Our 10 questions to ask a gold IRA company work with any dealer.

Common questions

Is Augusta better than Goldco?

It depends on what matters most to you. Augusta covers setup, custodian and storage fees for up to 10 years, its educators are salaried rather than paid on commission, and Money magazine has named it "Best Overall Gold IRA Company" from 2022 to 2026. Goldco's offer is bonus silver on certain coins, and it says it generally requires $25,000 to open.

Which has the lower minimum, Augusta or Goldco?

Goldco says it generally requires $25,000 for a gold IRA. Augusta's minimum is $50,000.

Which has lower fees?

Goldco lists $50 to set up and about $225 a year after that. Augusta's standard fees are $50 to open, $125 a year for administration and $100 a year for storage, and under its offer they are ZERO for up to 10 years.

We base our guides on primary sources such as the IRS, the Department of Labor, and federal regulators. Read our editorial policy. Spot an error? Tell us.

Free guide + a no-pressure call with an educatorGet it free